Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Smile - It's Friday!!!

Isn't this the most hideous iPhone selfie you have ever seen?  

I went to the dentist two weeks ago for my 6 month cleaning and decided I would have my teeth whitened. They said to wait a couple of weeks and had that scheduled for today. 

The tray option (whitening at home) was about $375.00 and required repeat whitening sessions.  I did that about 15 years ago and didn't have great results and lost patience with that process.  To boot, my dog Keara ate the bottom tray (plaster and mouth insert) so I couldn't use the old one any longer.

So I opted for the in-house bleaching which was $500.00 and took about 90 minutes from start to finish which included three bleaching sessions.  According to the dentist, he was able to get my teeth over 11 shades whiter.  He wanted to apply a fourth round of bleach but I was fearful that my teeth would be too white and was also worried about sensitivity after the fact.  In addition to that, I was also over having that uncomfortable plastic contraption in my mouth and just wanted to get the heck out of there.

The down side of all of this is that the dentist told me not to drink coffee for at least a week. That is NOT going to happen but I will mix in lot's of milk to dilute the coffee and hopefully reduce the risk of staining my freshly whitened teeth.  

Happy Friday and have a fabulous weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.