Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

A Very Wuthering Heights Day

As a little sister, I have been obligated to take on the role of antagonist, tormentor & infuriator of my dearly beloved sister.   She liked Duran Duran & Wham so I liked Culture Club & anybody who wasn’t Duran Duran & Wham (incidentally - told you George Michael wouldn’t be interested).  She wanted to save the Whales.  I suggested collecting the whole set.  She split the room in half. Not down the middle like a reasonable person, but half way up the wall which was fine by me because I had the top bunk, the lightswitch and windows in my half. 
                                      
Squeezy, as she is affectionately known (don’t feel sorry for her – she calls me Natta Nerda Lucy), has always been ‘soap box’ oriented, “fighting for the greater good & the bigger cause”.  She was also super, super smart ... you know the type ...read books & stuff like that whilst I was busy with mud pies, falling out of trees & deconstructing anything that stood still for longer than 2 minutes.  Yet it was in this academic realm that I proved to be the most effective as an antagonist. 
 
It started with her passion for Shakespeare & my insistence that he didn’t write anything.  Then came her love of Pride & Prejudice & my insistence on watching the BBC production to see if the book was worth reading.  But the epitome of this antagonism focused fairly & squarely on the Bronte’s & specifically the loathsome, Wuthering Heights.  Squeezy loved it more than anything.  She idolised the Bronte’s, even forcing me to visit where they had lived when travelling with her.  Apparently it’s not acceptable to ‘bag’ dead authors but if the education department is going to insist on me reading it ...well...
 
Upon first being forced to read Wuthering Heights, I remember thinking: “And people get criticised for reading Mills & Boon”??  Then there was that completely unnecessary ghost scratching wrists on broken glass bit.  I stapled that chapter together in my copy so I didn’t have to read it. Of course there was the amazing symbolism .... all of it ... in fact, so much of it that one really has to search to find the non-symbolic bits.  And then there was the overdramatic (would now be diagnosed with several SERIOUS issues impacting on their ability to function as healthy human beings in society) Heathcliff & Bimbo (sorry meant Cathy).  Poor Isabella didn’t stand a chance against psycho bullies like that.  Thank goodness they didn’t have facebook or twitter - I’m sure they both would have been trolls.  Anyway, to cut a long story short – I despise this book!
 
Andrew is one of my dearest friends & we agree on most things. We have colourful conversations about the intacacies of theatre & art but differ on one thing .... his love of Kate Bush & that damned song!  He sings it whenever I’m around so it gets stuck in my head.  I’m not entirely convinced that my sister hasn’t paid him to do so. 
 
So why am I telling you all this???
 
Because I need you to understand the excruciating dilemma I faced this afternoon when a group of 1500 Kate Bush look-a-likes (including Andrew) took over Kings Domain in Melbourne to raise money for Safe Steps Family Violence Resource Centre by recreating the film clip to ....Wuthering Heights. 
 
I was entertained & possibly traumatised .... & although I don’t usually blip photos like this, but today I have .  What can I say? I’m confused!!  I don’t understand!! I deny everything !! Whatever!!!
 
AAAGGGHHHHH!!
 

PLEASE don’t tell Squeezy I went!!        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.