Escapee.......

There is a wee story to be told....

Hubby and I were standing looking out to sea when there was a snort behind us, we turned and could see nothing, just rocks, we continued to talk. Another snort louder had us look again, there peering at us in a whole in the rocks was a little face, looked quite cute but it was on the move! Fumbling down the rocks a NZ Fur Seal pup made its way to the waves - Awww so cute I thought!

Then there was more movement and another two NZ Fur Seals made their way to sea, a pup and mother. The mother hestitated looking back at us and the rocks for a little while before following the two pups out to sea - I was quite excited about this wild experience!.

Not realising Hubby and I thought we might move along but then Hubby said 'there's another one up there'. We waited and watched, we could hear movement on the rocks, a bigger sound and a much bigger seal!! Thankfully we had left a path for his escape because he was really going for it. Big and awkard he lurched himself forward but landing so lightly on the sand, he didn't sink like I would, I knew if he chased me he would win. I have never seen such a big animal move so fast in the wild, nicely toned he was and there was no stopping him!!

Manuka Bay is where we were today, red stones on a black sand beach, lots of rocks and yes NZ Fur Seals to. Unfortunately the tide was coming in so we couldn't linger round the rocks, perhaps that was a good thing - I'd had my ration of wild live experience for one day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.