a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Farmers

I had a go at this week's homework for the "A year with my camera" course being run by Emma Davies Photo this afternoon.  The conditions were not ideal for it and I may have another go tomorrow.  We are required to take a macro shot at a low ISO with a narrow aperture using natural light.  Unfortunately it is quite breezy today, and outside photography of this sort was quite tricky.  I have a shot I can use, but it is not as sharp as I would normally want it to be. If it is less windy tomorrow I may try again.

However, in the process I came across these ants, farming little black aphids on the St John's Wort. To my mind, hypericum is not a terribly attractive plant in real life, but it isn't half photogenic. This shot is taken with flash, the ants are moving too much to be able to take a shot with this aperture without it.

Back in the real world, Jess is visiting again this weekend, and we have been off to collect her car from the dealership.  All has gone well and she is now mobile, hurrah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.