Looking for Grandad

Backblipped for 4th July

As my blip followers will recall, I have fondness for maps. While browsing the NLS website I came across one map of Yorkshire which piqued my interest; I saw the precise name that appears on my Paternal Grandfather's birth certificate and contemporary with it. Our family had assumed that they had always lived in a totally different area until a chance remark by my father's cousin made us realise that we were mistaken - she mentioned another place of the same name, although not the exact location (we were too astonished to ask). On subsequent maps the name is changed and later marked only as a sheepfold; on recent maps nothing is noted except the nearby limekiln, which appears on all maps.

According to my brother, who has traced family details, it is unlikely that the family lived there, as they were previously resident in more pastoral farmland, and, although they seem to have suffered an unfortunate series of illnesses (even deaths) there, it seems unlikely that they would move to a place so close to the moors. However, today we sought to visit the place to get a feel of it, and to see how likely our theory may be.

Progressing from a pitstop and craft fair in Helmsley (cue for hymn tune...) we took the small by-road out of Hawnby, only to be met with a sign 'Road Closed Ahead'. Consternation - just how far ahead? Could we reach our destination? The alternative would involve a long detour and we might equally meet such a sign when approaching from the other direction. Even the Postie we met didn't know. So we travelled on hopefully, and indeed, found our chosen parking place to begin our exploration, walking up the hill to find whatever nature had left behind. And there they were, the footings of the buildings, just where the original map had depicted them. Here I am, sitting on what might have been an enclosure wall, with the building on my right. But just look at that view!

I would like to be convinced that my family lived here; I am still unsure, even as I write. On the level ground I can imagine a farmstead, stockyard, perhaps a garden, but it felt so small. I wish I had felt a spiritual connection, but no. We left, little wiser, in pouring rain but I am so glad we went.

We finally met the road closure just out of Osmotherley, where a cattle grid was under repair; we would have wasted many miles had we earlier chosen to backtrack and take a detour. As it happens, the workmen kindly allowed us to pass through the 'horse-drawn carriage and animal' gateway alongside and squeeze past their lorry to continue on our way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.