Keep Death Off The Road

I've been up to my eyes in automotive stuff again today. A classic car magazine is going to feature my daughter and her car and I was asked to get pics. She has an eye infection, probably caused by debris thrown up from the track. She got antibiotics from the optician and donned her shades. I did my best.

As I left home to do my shopping a pigeon with a broken wing started walking into the road. Maybe it would have been better for the stricken bird to have been run over but I couldn't bear to see it. I ran into the road and stopped the traffic, then shooed the bird into the undergrowth on the other side.

A bit further down the road I found one of 'my' deer beyond help. :(

MrQ has told me of a road safety campaign that took place in the 1940s. It featured a widow in mourning and the slogan, "Keep Death Off The Road." It was quite controversial at the time.  

      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.