Infrastructure

It is a common theme in cinema and TV.  Post apocalypse, a small band of survivors live off the land, occasionally encountering the remnants of the physical infrastructure of the pre-apocalypse world.  

Down by the River Almond all is quiet.  It flows in a deep valley, surrounded by woodland.  The occasional plane coming in to land punctuates the afternoon, but there is virtually no other human sound.  The burble of the river around rocks is audible.

I stand in the shallows, with gravel between my toes and fresh cold water lapping gently round my ankles.

Pebbles splash in the water, CyclopsJnr's work, and MrsCyclops laughs as he nearly overbalances.  

Through a world of greenery I catch a glimpse of a strangely alien concrete structure.

For a moment, it seems so out of place that it jars me.  I have been so wrapped up in where I am, I have forgotten I am in a city.  I have forgotten the main road just a few yards away.  It feels like the moment in a film where that hardy band of survivors stumbles across the first signs of an abandoned city.

We'd make a poor band of survivors.  We were very glad to return to the city, a hot meal, and a good film.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.