Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Lisa LeBlanc

Vancouver, Day 16

The 2nd day of the Vancouver Folk Festival was just as much of a blast as the first!

Performers I saw today were...

The Young 'Uns
Geoff Berner
The Bills
Martin and Eliza Carthy
Martha Wainwright and Lucy Wainwright Roche
Sarah Jane Scouten
Lucy Ward
Birds of Chicago
Lisa LeBlanc
The Americans
Les Hay Babies
The Weather Station
Lisa O'Neill
Shane Koyczan and The Short Story Long
Oysterband

Once again, all the performances were superb and I wish I could tell you about them all at length and talk you through my photos... but, luckily for you, I'm exhausted and must get some sleep before the final day of the festival tomorrow!

So, today's blip subject is one of the performers who's particularly blown me away this weekend. Lisa LeBlanc was born in New Brunswick, lives in Quebec and plays thrash banjo like a woman possessed!

I urge you to check out her rendition of Motörhead's classic, 'Ace of Spades'. You know it makes sense!

www.youtube.com/watch?v=teKvPN1wLzk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.