It's been a while

It's been a while in more ways than one. I think it's been 8 weeks since I did anything of note outside. It's been much longer than that since I last saw my good mate Freddy.

In the past we used to mountain bike up and down Maukatere (Mt Grey), or walk the tracks. Today we laughed at some of those adventures. I wouldn't bike those tracks today because my bones are more brittle than they were back then.

Freddy lives in Nelson but is back in north Canterbury house sitting for a few weeks. I'm not as fit as I was but the day was achievable in a window of kind weather. Above the bush line the breeze was cold, but a few metres below the summit out of the wind it was very pleasant.

So pleasant we ate a leisurely lunch and remained lounging in the sun for much longer than you normally would. 900m is a modest peak but that wasn't the point. After my injured foot and tooth woes I'm just pleased to be back in the hills. The rest will follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.