Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

A fine donkey, and a fine day

It was difficult to select a photograph from the many I took today, so I've chosen one which sums up finding out something new.

As part of my business involves helping shows and events to establish a presence using Facebook and Twitter, I've been helping one of the oldest agricultural shows to start their journey into this new media. The Border Union Show will celebrate its 200th anniversary next year, and I'm honoured to have the opportunity to work with the volunteers there. As part of my familiarisation with the event, I went to Kelso today to experience one of the days of the two-day show.

The day focused on equine events, with the big day for other animals being Saturday, which unfortunately I couldn't attend due to a prior commitment (family holidays above all in importance rankings this year!)

It was an enjoyable day out - a trip to Kelso in the Scottish Borders made a change for the family, and we got the opportunity to try out our new wellies and meet up with my cousin who lives in Coldstream. It was also a chance to meet an old friend and colleague from my stockbroking days who also has a new career based in Kelso.

The photograph is of a very smartly dressed lady (who had been judging other equine events) leading a very beautifully turned out donkey as the donkey judging got under way. I had no idea donkeys could be this smart! The whole etiquette of judging and the world of the bowler-hatted male judges and wedding-hatted female judges will be fascinating to learn. It will be a steep learning curve for me and the volunteers at the show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.