My Year

By Dunworkin

Arromanches

Today we visited Arromanches where the Allies brought millions of tonnes of supplies ashore through specially constructed Mulberry Harbours

How they managed it I've no idea as the roads leading from the harbour are so narrow. I do believe they had the biggest traffic jam the world had ever seen!

The Mulberry harbours were only expected to last a few months, and whilst one, further along the coast was destroyed by a storm within two weeks, this one stayed the course and the remains are still visible today.

Unfortunately, the tide was in and only the the tops of the sections were showing, so I focussed on these old tractors which were being used to tow boats off the water. They looked to be of 40's/50's vintage, and I wondered if they had been brought in during the war to move supplies off the beach and been recycled by enterprising local fishermen. Anyone know the answer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.