garden party

Our new CD hot off the press.  We leave for Germany today for a 5-gig tour including,  amongst other venues, a garden party.  

It’s been touch and go for me.  One of the side effects of my new heart drugs is that singing has become difficult (breathlessness and a lot of wheezing) and The Gods of Arrhythmia*  keep wanting to get in on the act.  They put in appearance again last night.  But the band are pretty relaxed about it and if I can’t sing then I can just play guitar.  If I can’t even manage that then I’ll have a wee holiday.

The photo on the disc itself is one I took when Anniemay and I visited Monument Valley - it’s an iconic location that has featured on plenty of album covers, so nothing original about its use on ours.

The title song is by Ricky Nelson and refers to a concert he played at Madison Square Garden in 1971.  The audience were not happy when he began to play some new songs and he was booed off stage.  So he wrote ‘Garden Party’ afterwards.  I rather like the chorus;

But it's all right now, I've learned my lesson well
You see, you can't please everyone, so you've got to please yourself

A suitable mantra for creative people everywhere.


ps; It maybe sometime before we have wifi again but I’ll catch up with your journals in due course.


* If we were a heavy metal band this would be my preferred name.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.