Dining on Lace

After yesterday's wedding shower, just back blipped, my husband and I got in the car and headed north so he could run another segment of the C&O Canal.  Each time we go now, we have to drive farther from home.  After his six mile run, we checked into the Country Inn in West Virginia and had a lovely meal and an early bedtime.  We were up early again so I could drop him at another location to run the next 5 miles.  We were in a very remote section of Western Maryland, where access to the canal is hard to find so these runs involve a fair amount of research beforehand.  The road that we had researched for me to go from the drop-off to pick-up turned out to be a very winding one-lane dirt road that took me to very high elevations along the river so it took me nearly as long to get there as it did for him to run. I never saw another car and was a little nervous until I reached the paved road again.  There was a meadow, near where I dropped him,  with lots of Queen Anne’s Lace which gave me a brief chance to get some macro shots of the local insects.  He has now completed 147 miles of this run and has only 37 to go. Not back for a 65 year-old man!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.