Derelict Sunday

The smell of the sea is in my blood and in my soul.  My dad's parents came to the US from Sicily in search of a better life.  Many were fishermen in the 1940's or at least involved in the commercial fishing industry in some way.  

After spending the better part of two days exploring the northern coast of Massachusetts and eating and visiting with several cousins, it's nice to be home with feet up relaxing on a Sunday evening with so many laughing, happy moments to hold us until the next time.  It's true that cousins are usually the first friends we have as children and no one understands our quirky family quite like they do.  

This was an old fish processing "plant" in Gloucester, Massachusetts where  my cousin who always was and still is like a sister lives.  I spent many weeks and weekends at her house with my parents and without growing up and as adults.  We drove the old routes and visited places I didn't remember and some I did that no longer looked the way I remembered them.  They all seemed so much bigger when I was smaller.  Then on to visit with still more cousins from the "other side" (my dads) of the family.  

The theme for this DS is "Human" and I think there were many humans who worked this industry in the early days when the conditions were not easy or automated and this building probably has some stories to tell.  Many thanks to JanetHH for hosting Derelict Sunday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.