Arachne

By Arachne

The vodka jelly man in green and gold skirt

WOMAD 2

I've seen this guy at many WOMADs and this time plucked up the courage to ask if I could take his picture. As you can see, he was quite happy about it. I must try talking to someone again sometime.

This is just one example among very many at WOMAD of liberated dress. I don't have festival clothing - I just wear the beaten-up, down-at-heel, comfortable clothes that I try to wear wherever I am - but I love the creative ways that other people adorn and cover themselves (or don't). I see more men in sarongs/wrap-rounds/skirts/dresses at festivals than anywhere else and there are quite a lot who are equally imaginable in a suit come Monday morning. Including this guy.

In all cultures that I know about it is acceptable for those with less social power - such as women or ethnic minorities - to wear the clothes of those with more social power - such as men (trousers) or Europeans (suits). But dominant groups are very reluctant to take on the attributes of subordinate groups unless they are making a conscious political statement about their alliances. I think it's sad that men don't have more freedom away from festivals to wear 'women's' clothing. Roll on equality, when everyone can wear whatever they like without fear of being judged.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.