RSPB Arne

An unexpected and rather unwelcome visit to the dentist today, as I could no long  ignore an infection in my gums. 

Having been given antibiotics which I shall take reluctantly I decided to head for Arne which I haven't been to for a few years- we lived in a flat at Wareham when I first came back down here in '99.

They have put a cafe where a Teddy Bear Museum used to be and it was fab- I sat under an oak tree accompanied by the strange churring sound of a male nightjar  but I was unable to spot him. The RSPB staff were really helpful.   
I donned my binoculars ( it's like joining a special club- I felt quite guilty when I was asked 'Have you spotted anything? ' as I'd only wandered on the paths not making the hides defeated by the teeth and a painful mouth - and I'm no expert anyway:) )But I did hear a curlew!
Amazing weather - 35 degrees when I reached the car again - a bit too hot for me but it is lovely to see sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.