AMK49

By AMK49

The Old Granary Steps

These steps lead up to the granary at my brother's farm - as can be seen it is some time since they have been used although the railing was fitted for H & S reasons at some point - men would have carried heavy bags of corn up and down these steps and I can remember it being used.

In the coming weeks I will be taking more nostalgic photos around  the farm as my brother is retiring and the farm is up for sale - my grandfather came to this farm in 1946 ( 3 years before I was born) and I lived there till I got married. 

My almost daily trips to collect eggs will come to an end and my hens will need to go - I will need to find another source of fresh free range eggs which I have every morning for breakfast. A farmer's wife who was buying some of our eggs at a coffee morning told me " there is nothing to beat eggs from rinnin aboot hens" - a lovely old Scots expression!

The extra is of a very old stone which is above a lintel on the old bothy where some of the workers would have lived - over the years it has eroded with the weather and it is thought perhaps it came from a previous building on this site before the steading was built. I think the animal on it is a pig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.