What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

to Go Flat Out

For the last few weeks both my bees and myself have been going flat out at honey production.

The bees have brought in an exceptionally large quantity of honey this spring.

The job does not end there because I have had to extract the honey from the combs and put the honey in to store.

Also at the same time I have had to look through each hive every seven days (with my able assistant) to make sure that there is no sign of  swarming.  If there is going to be a swarm then I have to deal with it.

As a rule of thumb we bee keepers reckon that with every large swarm that flies away over the fields you loose about 40 lbs of honey production.

So in spite of the warm weather and sweltering in the protective clothing, it is a job worth doing.

That busy time has now passed and the bees have now settled down and are busy getting in blackberry and clover honey.

I can therefore now sit back a little! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.