Inertia

I think I've always been cursed (or blessed?) with a great deal of inertia and my experience of life at the moment is possibly more inertial than it's ever been. Whatever it is I'm doing, it takes a huge effort to bring that activity (or inactivity) to a halt. 

Once I'm asleep I have no inclination to wake up. At the other end of the day, when I'm usually at my most alert, I have no inclination to go to bed. Once I'm watching a show on Netflix, I'm rooted to the couch - for it's far easier to just watch another episode rather than do anything else. Once I'm out walking or cycling, all I want to do is keep going and feed on the energy that the physical exercise generates within myself

Yesterday followed the same kind of pattern. I got watching sport, first the cricket, then the cycling, and finally the golf, with quite a bit of channel hopping when all three were in high action at the same time. I couldn't move. There was always another over, another col, another hole. By the time I managed to tear myself away from the damn television it was quite late, and then I didn't want to return. I was only forced back home by darkness.

The skies last night were amazing. It was another great show, every bit as good as the afternoon one, full of more high action - of an unusual lenticular kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.