Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

A Cocktail To Finish

I was getting ready to start applying a finish to the maple slab table top, using a formula given to me by my friend, mentor, and fellow NCWA* member Jerry. He's the guy who did most of the work on the butterfly keys.

I couldn't remember if the finish was supposed to be brushed or wiped on, so I called him. When I told him what I was doing, he said he was in town and asked if he could stop by. I'm always glad to see him, so I told him he'd be welcome, and promised him a beer. He came over, mixed up a batch of the secret sauce, and showed me how to apply it.

Luckily, I had a can of IPA in the fridge -- his favorite beer -- to show my appreciation. I usually have a lot more than one!

* Northwest Corner Woodworkers' Association

P.S. The underside of the slab is shown in the photo. I'm only putting one coat of finish on it, but will give the top at least three coats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.