Arachne

By Arachne

Prepositions

Of me not by me.

A morning in Warwick. I was delighted when almost everyone piled into a second-hand bookshop and asked me for suggestions of books to buy. A pleasure, now that I know their different interests and comprehension of English.

Then a park where I could lie on the grass and read.

After the hike back to the boat and after my lesson on time (past simple and past progressive plus time prepositions) we were all melting.

John was first in the canal and I needed no further encouragement. Two of the students joined us - such a good way to get cool again - and another borrowed my camera to take this.

Then a staircase lock, a stroll along the towpath in a not very successful scavenge for wild apples and plums and a walk across the fields to a village pub. A folk band was playing and we soon joined in with the songs we knew, learnt some from them and sang some of our own.

Now, in the small hours, I am sitting alone on the front of the boat in a welcome breeze. Sheep bleat under clouds playing hide and seek with the full moon as the students, one by one, retreat from the laughter on the back deck to their bunks. Time for mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.