'n Kiekie 'n Dag

By Sanri

Long Day

I  left the house at 07:15 and was back at 20:05.

I was in time to catch the fast 7:32 train (which was delayed due to signalling problems and expected at 7:36) or the  slower 7:38. I decided on the slower one because there were scores of people waiting for the fast one and not getting a seat was a real possibility. The slower one was nearly empty. All went well up to Ilford, where we stopped - a buckled rail at Bucknell Green caused a lane closure and trains were stacked & had to wait their turn. At Stratford we were told that the service was terminating at Stratford and not going to Liverpool Street. I  planned to get off at Stratford anyway, but to avoid the crowds, now the crowds got off with me. Sardine tin trip on the underground to St Paul's in an oven. I arrived at the office just before 10:00 - a bit later than the "just after 09:00" which was planned.

On the way back the underground was packed again & hot. At Stratford the next Ipswich train was cancelled. Fortunately there was a Harwich Int train that stopped at Manningtree ready to go. It was a milk train that  stopped at every station, but I got a seat at Ingatestone and the speed restriction due to the heat only applied up to Shenfiled. C was good enough to travel the extra few miles to pick me up at Manningtree.

had a beer and left over bbq for supper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.