SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

Ive had this kind of shot in mind for a while now... I saw the spot last year sometime and thought it might be worth a try. When I was kind of in the area today I thought I'd stop by to get the shot.

The shot is about a 30 second exposure using the 10 stop filter stacked with a polarizer to average the movement out of the water for that glassy look and add a bit of movement to the sky. At the 18mm this means you get some vignetting due how far off the front of the lens the two filters combined stick... far enough for them to be within the field of view of the lens.

What I didnt realize was that the jetty is in fact a floating one. So when you try to do a long exposure it wobbles back and forth and blurs.

So I only took a couple of shots at this spot before deciding to get back in the car to look around the lake for a more solid jetty and maybe a less cluttered view... I didnt manage to find one that wasnt tucked away on private land. Virtually all of the lake front is either in peoples back yards or fenced away.

Oh well, the shot is still in my head... I just need to find a better place to execute it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.