Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Quinoa

Let me introduce you to our new best friend - 'keenwah'. I know many of you may have been friends for while, but we joined the party late.

It's high in protein, gluten free (not that I'm intolerant), high in fibre, contains magnesium, B-vitamins, iron, potassium, calcium, phosphorus, vitamin E and various beneficial antioxidants. It's delicious - slightly nutty and grainy (even though it's a seed). And it passes our 'easy and quick to cook' test! I just cook enough for a few servings and keep it in the fridge.

So far we've had it for breakfast mixed with yoghurt, strawberries and pineapple; in a salad with avocado and diced beetroot (delish!); and in a salad with grated beetroot, grated carrots, tuna and lemon dressing.

I'm trying to eat less bread and this might help with packed lunches in August and September. Not an easy habit to change as I love bread and sandwiches!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.