angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

ringlets in the spotlight

...this morning, we made our usual every other day check on the Nightjar chicks, both of which continue to do well. We will post our next photograph of their progress on our blog on Friday, when they will be one week old.

After lunch, the dull weather showed signs of improving and there was even a patch of near sunshine. I ran up to the meadows where I was able to take a few shots of these Ringlets Aphantopus hyperantus just before the sun disappeared and the heavens opened. It looked as though the rain was going to persist so I legged it home for a reviving pot of tea. The rain didn't last as long as I thought but the sun only returned at 5:30pm. I decided to return to the downs in the hope of finding something interesting but it was far too windy and the Ringlets have therefore made it as today's blip. Given their compromising situation, I was aunable to coax the male into a better position (take care how you interpret that!) so the composition is not quite as I would have liked - to see a really great Ringlet image look at this one by coastaldave67...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.