Evening Hedgehog

Hubby and I were sitting outside tonight, garden torches and some candles, when I noticed a smallish creature inching along the brick border.  For a moment I thought it was a rat, but then hubby took a closer look and saw that it was a hedgehog.  It hid behind one of the folded garden chairs.  Hubby told me to get the cam while he removed the chairs.  I had to use flash as it was way past the sunset.  It didn't move.  After only one shot, hubby returned the chairs.  When it thought the fuss was over, it sneaked further along the brick borders until it had walked along the whole garden, after which I could see it as it made a quick dash towards the gate and sneak out as unobstrusively as it had sneaked in.  What a cute creature!

Read my mail today and driving to school tomorrow to sign internship documents for my students.  They've fixed it so that about 5 of them will be there and I can do them all in one go.  After that, there will be time for a nice drive somewhere, no idea where.  I think I'll have to keep my eye open for the weather, though.  Thunderstorms have been predicted.

In the meantime, we have been talking about politics again tonight.  The world is being bought, owned and run by big business, and everything and almost everyone is for sale.  And here I am, teaching at a business school, helping young people become the same kind of monsters these multinational giants have mutated into.  The least we teachers can do is try to impart some values.  Even writing it down here, it sounds so small and ineffective.

That said, at exactly 19.39 this evening, I finally realized that I am on holiday.  The feeling just came and I hope it will help me sleep tonight.  I did sleep better last night but still woke up about 3 times.  Exhausting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.