A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Blooming Artichoke

Too many trips, too much rain and too much sun has combined to make my allotment a sorry sight this year.

During the early part of the year we were under water. Now the ground is rock hard. Anything I planted started to show but never survived very long. A few across the allotment have suffered with regular crops failing. There are a few exceptions to the rule.

I'm left with my fruit trees which needed heavy pruning last year, these artichokes (not my type of food) and little else. I have 5 corn stems, four courgettes and one squash plant. All are growing so slowly I wonder if they will have time now to produce very much.

One success has been the grass, it is growing quicker than I can cut it and don't get me on to the weeds...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.