Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Portrait of the blipArtist as a Young Lass……..

…….a 60+ year old nursery school picture found when I was looking for some vintage pics requested by the firstborn a couple of days ago…..that's me at the back wielding a paintbrush. But I can tell you now, it was completely staged for the camera, I even remember thinking at the time it was all a bit of a con (though probably not in those words!) because I'd painted the picture days earlier and there was no paint on that paintbrush…..pah, and they say the camera never lies ;-)

PS…..I also remember being well pissed-off I didn't get to play in the sand-tray with the lads!!!

PPS…..Just remembered another interesting factoid…..one of those boys pictured was the son of one my Dad's fellow firemen at Alnwick at the time, and a couple of decades later I got the job (drawing maps for the DOE in Newcastle) he'd just left when he decided to follow in his father's footsteps….he kept in touch with his old work colleagues and we met at an after-hours 'drinking event' some months after I was in post and discovered the connection over a pint or three (even though neither of us could really remember the other from 'back in the day')….. and it turned out later he had a copy of the very same photo……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.