Plummeted!

I don't quite know what to write about my orienteering today!  We had late starts in an area at Maloja.  There were dire warnings over the PA system about taking care and avoiding injury and the Swiss volunteer at my start singled me out to warn me about the 'overgrown boulders'!  The majority of our courses crossed a steep, forested hillside covered in boulders with deep holes in between, all surrounded and covered by thick bilberry.  I struggled to navigate whilst trying to cross the boulder field and then one leg disappeared down a hole whilst the other leg stayed on firm ground and crunched my bad knee.  I sat still for a few moments to decide whether it was painful enough to retire, and whether I was going to cry, and then tried again, dropping far too far down the slope and having to climb all the way back up.  That one control cost me 24 minutes alone!  Long story short I took 82 minutes to complete 2.5k and plummeted to 46th position.......  Tony has just looked at the big error he made on his GPS tracking and it's frustrating how close he came to the control but couldn't see it because of the terrain, a day to write off I think!

We arrived back at the apartment and wound down by watching the guys on the building site below us.  I've learned much about construction this week and it's all been interesting.  The promised weather arrived late afternoon but we got off lightly, the rain falling heavily over the next valley where we walked yesterday.  When the front went through, this rainbow arrived!

Today's video!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.