The one eyed man

(this photo is from last Sunday, but posting it with this date)

Last Sunday I woke up with a painful eye. It got worse and by Sunday morning I was in agony. I went to A&E, something I haven't done since I was about 13. It turned out I had a corneal abrasion. The nurse took this photo with my phone. See that green blob by my pupil? That's a big scratch. A week before something had flicked up in my eye, and after a  day's blurry vision, this had cleared up. But it had weakened the protective layer (the doctor reckoned), so when I rubbed it during the night I was just gouging the cornea like a massive idiot.
They said it should clear up in 48 hours but on Tuesday (when I should have been running a university wide workshop), it was worse, so I went back to A&E, and then got referred to the eye clinic. Here, like something out of A Clockwork Orange, they put a contact lens bandage on it to protect it, and told me to come back again in two days.
During this time I was a) whimpering quite a lot, b) unable to look at a  screen and c) listening to a lot of Radio 4. It seems to be healing up now, after another visit, but it's still blurry.
This means I have broken my long run of daily blips. And having done so, I'm not sure I want to carry on recording every day of my life, so I may be using Blip less now. See what happens when you rub your eye?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.