Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

Every cloud.....

So my car died completely on my last day at work before Annual Leave and I can't replace it immediately. I left it in the wilds of Ayrshire, outside a participant's house (who wasn't in!) and got it carted away. That's a cruel way to treat a faithful companion of 12 years, but needs must. 

Can't afford to replace it instantly, so this means two things: using my feet more (which is a good thing; worked out that bus travel forces me to walk a mile minimum when I would otherwise have been sitting on my bottom) and using public transport (which I'm still coming to terms with). 

Probably the best thing is I do see more and I've probably had more interactions with the folk of Glasgow in the last few days than I have since I moved here. 

I took this while waiting for the number 59 on Albert Drive, which is the only way I can get to the swimming pool now (I've become obsessed with swimming now....) The number 59 is unlike any bus I've been on in London. It's like the neighbourhood social club and the bus driver knows everyone intimately. I got a cheer when I announce how many lengths I've done (64 today). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.