MonoMonday Challenge - 130 Communication

Better late than never...

I am playing a bit of catch-up after a busy period between work, family and a summertime cold.

I came across Neil Young playing in Milan a few weeks ago and seeing that the stars were aligned and the wife was agreeing, bought tickets right away.  I haven't been to a concert in YEARS.  I mean, it has been a very very long time...  (I think it was Pink Floyd 7-8 years ago.)  Neil Young is one of those last great references in my musical appreciation that I have yet to see live.  And WOW, what a concert!  Not bad for a 70 year old...  The venue was outdoors with no assigned seating.  So, I bit the bullet and paid the full price for the pit.  I mean if you have to do it only once... even if I hope to see him again now.  I got up nearly to the barrier even if just a bit off to the side.  Very intimate and great to see up close.  I also risked the whole bargain by taking the camera and two lenses - 35 and 90 primes.  Even before the concert a lady just behind me was trying to argue that her BIG Canokin lens was nothing more than an amateur's passionate play thing to the show security.  I kept my mouth shut even though my camera was already hung around my neck.  Stupid lady, she should have just excused herself and put the smaller prime lens she brought on the camera to make them happy, but refused.  She more or less won, but used it very little during the show.  I on the other hand got a bit too cocky and I must have taken more than 150 pictures before they finally beamed me with the flash light to give it a break.  ha... good thing, because the show was well Worth watching instead of concentrating to photograph every little detail.  ha.

What to say... that must have been one of the best concerts ever!  From his older acoustic ballads to the new stuff that really rocks.  There was even a special appearance from Willie Nelson given that two of his sons are in the backup band - Lucas and Micah.  Who would have known???  Too cool!!!

Sorry for rambling.  The energy levels are definitely back on cloud 9.

Communication.  What a better way to communicate than through song and word.  Neil has a lot of messages packed in his music.

KEEP ON ROCKIN' IN THE FREE WORLD!

Thanks to Skeena for hosting this month's MonoMonday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.