Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Meadow resident

Continuing to explore the area around my "new" office saw me stopping at Shawford Down.

On the way to work I had spotted an intriguing gap through the hedgerow to what looked like a wonderful view across the downs. A little further along there was a convenient car park, so tonight I stopped to investigate.

Sure enough, on the other side of the hedgerow the area opened out into a wild flower meadow on the chalk downs with views over the River Itchen valley, and I spent a happy hour or so strolling around.

I spotted this rabbit sitting in the middle of a path, but by the time I'd fitted the long lens it had spotted me and disappeared. Ever hopeful, I moved downwind and waited ... I was distracted by a dog walker, and when I looked back, there he was hopping away again, and that was the last I saw of him. So not the best of shots, but a highlight of my walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.