Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Anniversary

When Liza and I go scooting, I'm used to having people smile or laugh or comment on how cute we are (well, Liza anyway); the typical comments are "it looks like she's pulling you!" or "wow, she's really strong!" and I suppose they think they're being original. But I'm just happy to bring a smile to people's faces - it's a worthy objective.

And then occasionally there is one who is so over the moon about Liza, it borders on manic. I think this charming woman is the same one who came running out of her house one day laughing and exclaiming about our cuteness when she saw us passing by; today she spotted us when she and her husband were across the street - she ran over to us and gushed about Liza and how sweet we were together. And then they told me they were on their way to celebrate their 42nd anniversary! And I gushed about how sweet they were together and told them I had to take their photo to honor their milestone.

I love their hats and clothes, their smiles and their unabashed enthusiasm for life, and for each other. I don't know where they were going - they were towing a little suitcase - and I regret I did not get their names, but something tells me I'll be seeing them again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.