Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Second Flowering

I was relaxing in the garden when my phone pinged to remind me that I should be walking out of the house for a lunch appointment.
It had slipped my mind because I had heard that the person who had arranged the lunch was very ill so I assumed it was going to be cancelled. However, I realised today that I had not been advised that it was not going ahead.  I then went into over-drive.  Shower, make up, change, dash to the florist to get a big bouquet of flowers, etc.  Just as we were driving down the road, suitably suited and booted, I received a call from her daughter saying that it had been cancelled.  Her mum was just too ill.  Very sad, because she is just such a lovely person.  
It is at times like this that you realise how precious and precarious life is.  Sorry for being so maudlin on such a beautiful day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.