Retina

By Bubstersdaddy

Mankle Misery.

Who would have thought that I'd be heading into my first Standard (Olympic) Triathlon tomorrow with the run leg as my major concern? Not me. I've just been out for 5km or so and it wasn't good. Not only did I feel that my achilles would snap at any moment, my general running fitness is badly shot (I haven't run competitively since the Solstice Tri, over a month ago). So tomorrow will basically be a (hopefully) decent bike leg sandwiched between two weak segments. Because for all the improvements in the durability of my swimming over the past weeks, I'm not kidding anyone that I'm slow, at best, and am likely to be one of the last out of the water. However, I will survive the swim, which was more than I could have hoped for a year ago. So it looks like full circle from my first Sprint triathlon at Eyemouth in 2014 where I had a disaster, and was running injured. But I made improvements from there and have put in some decent performances over the Sprint distance since then. Here's hoping that tomorrow can be the one that starts again that upward curve in this new distance. After all, it's the first step to that Ironman. Pray for me. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.