Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Peacock Butterfly

A lovely sunny start to the day and I even managed to drag my husband out of bed to go out and enjoy it!

We went to Lunt Meadows Nature Reserve in search of wildlife.
Normally it's birds that we see here, but today they were in short supply. However, there was an abundance of butterflies - some I'd not really been aware of before and some more common ones. There were Commas, Red Admirals, Peacocks, Gatekeepers, Meadow Browns, Small Tortoiseshells, Green Veined Whites and a Small Skipper.

It was a tough choice for a blip - I'd love to have added some extras, but I've never been able to get it to work for me. Anyway, this peacock was my favourite.

After 3 hours of very warm weather, it became very muggy and clouded over - a good excuse to go home for another great afternoon of sport :))


Husband is out this evening, and I am toying with going back to Lunt Meadows later in search of owls. Apparently they are quite common. I'll see how I feel.

Hope everyone has had a lovely Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.