Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Oak Bowl...... Take 2.

    This is the new piece of oak I have just acquired for the commission I am doing.
It really is a superb piece and it is nice to turn. No cracks in this piece!!
    As you can gather I have been in the w/shop today to make a start on it.
    This shot is the side of the bowl and the extra is the bottom of the bowl. If you look back to the 11th July blip, you can see the shape is much the same, but what you can also see is the difference in the quality of the wood.
    There is still a lot to do yet as I have to take the wood off the chuck (left of picture) and turn it so the bowl will be held on the other side which will allow me to 'turn' out the inside of the bowl. I will blip this procedure later.
I will also have to sand it, seal it and polish it on the outside. When I have 'turned' out the bowl, I will put some food oil in it as it will be used for food purposes.
Dimensions of the bowl 10" diameter and will be about 3" deep.
Hope you are all well and enjoying your weekend.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.