Northern Knapweed Fritillary

I had thought that the day's blip would very easily be from the via ferrata at Plateau d'Assy that I went for a play on today,  but I hadn't allowed for just how wonderfully interesting the walk back along the top of the Pertuis cliffs and down through the limestone woodland would be.

The ferrata is really good value as it traverses the cliffs with a nice mixture of wire bridges, plank walks and staple climbs. It allows you to get access to an environment that's not usually open to us - and the wealth of plants clinging to the ledges and pockets on and in the cliffs probably explained the extraordinary number of butterfly's I saw. Sadly however taking detailed flutterby pictures and hanging onto the cliff are relatively exclusive so today's blips are from the woodland.
Extra one shows some of the Ferrata, the first plank walk and a paraglider serenely sailing by.
In extra two I've put four of the stars of the show, I'd be really happy for any suggestions. A good friend has pointed me in the direction of the Woodland Ringlet which seems spot on, but I'm open to offers on the remainder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.