Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Ghost Trees

The early morning fog is acceptable because:

Ozzie doesn't get too hot
I don't get too hot
Years of practice have taught me that the sun will come out soon
I like the ghostly effects
The sounds of the city are somewhat muffled
I feel alone in the fog wrapped quiet

Returning to civilization as the rays of the sun shine through the trees, I enjoy a cup of coffee and a good old-fashioned read of the newspaper. It gets thinner every day, but is always trying new ways to keep its dwindling supply of readers, which I appreciate. Today's offering contains a whole new section titled "Health" with a whole article on new cancer treatments. Is that an oxymoron?

On another bench at the Coffee Place are two older gentlemen who meet several times a week and talk nothing but sports for an hour. I find this rather sweet although I daresay they would both be horrified to hear me say it. I would be hard pressed to dredge up five minutes' worth of conversation about any sport, well, maybe cycling, but I doubt these two would consider that a sport.....There are a few lycra clad types standing around admiring each others' bikes. I have never heard them talk about anything but wheels, spokes, routes, gears and tubes.

I admit I can think of a few things I could talk about all day, which would cause OilMan's eyes to glaze over after five minutes. Diversity keeps life interesting and there's plenty of it here at the Coffee Place.

A visit to the nearby shopping mecca in search of a summer dress, and I find myself in...Fall! Sweaters, lace up shoes, wool trousers and even some coats fill the racks, except in the Designer section where the nod to cooler weather seems to consist of fur vests over sleeveless dresses. Hummm, not only impractical but unaffordable. Unable to contemplate cold weather when it isn't cold, I return to the blazing parking lot and home sans summer frock.

Maybe tomorrow I'll organize my closet....





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.