horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Planes, Lanes and Velomobiles

One of my happiest childhood memories was when I must have been 9 or 10. I'd seen adverts on telly for the Leuchars Airshow. I had no idea where that was, but all I knew was I wanted to go. But alas it wasn't to happen. I'd completely forgotten about it, and then we had a family trip to Dundee for my dad to meet someone for business.

Then we got stuck in traffic. And then I saw the signs for the show. We walked through the gates after parking the car just as the Vulcan was lumbering into the air. These things stay with you. 

A few years later I was old enough to travel down with some friends on an ATC trip they had spaces on the coach for. That time, just as we were speaking to a Tornado pilot and navigator, the Red Arrows took to the sky, and we got invited behind the tape to sit on the air intake of their Tornado to watch.

Airshows, y'see, are something of a nostalgia trip for me. I get genuinely emotional seeing some of the aircraft. Just reminds me of that kind of happiness you generally only feel as a kid.

And of course tying that into getting 50 miles in on the bike (with about 4 kilos of camera kit and food and a big bike lock on my bag probably actually equates to about 325 miles I reckon) around little back lanes of East Lothian, almost running over a stoat in the process, who dived into the undergrowth squeaking annoyance at me, mean it could hardly have been a better day (okay, some blue skies would've been nice).

Main pic is the Consolidated Catalina, a hulking great flying boat, that I personally think is a gorgeous machine. It was one of my favourites in Airplane Magazine when I was young - I could imagine owning one, and having the inside kitted out to go on holiday, like some giant flying caravan. The Typhoon was a brilliant, noisy beast, though I wasn't at quite the right angle for the air condensing over the wings this year, so the Pitts Special (not normally a favourite, but this was a great display), Fairey Swordfish and Mig 15 make the cut in the extras.

Loads more here

The ride home I decided to hit the coast, having done inland hills on the outward (as well as realising the forecast for the wind to switch during the day had come to fruition, meaning a headwind both ways), and just battered along, trying to keep pace with a chap in a Liquigas team jersey (who I later found on Strava). I'd actually caught him at Cockenzie / Port Seton, but he clearly didn't like being overtaken, so re-passed me, then sat 30 yards or so ahead all the way to Porty. I can argue he was on a lighter bike and carrying no luggage, but he was also on an 82 mile ride. So we sort of even out.

Need 160 miles in the next 8 days to get two 500 mile months in a row. Potentially doable....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.