The Pictured Rocks

I forced Jeff out of bed at 8 a.m. (He is a late-to-bed and late-to-rise kind.) I took a short walk while he roused.

We had tickets for the boat tour at 2 p.m. 5-6 hours to goof around.

We first went to Au Train Falls. I didn't know it...but it would have been a great place to get in and take a shower that we didn't get last night. We did eventually wade in. Tough on the feet and cold on the tootsies. But...nothin like waterfalls. Music to the eyes and ears.

By car...we followed the river to where it empties into Lake Superior. The big lake just takes your breath away. I never get tired of looking at her.

Right near this spot...we visited perhaps the smallest waterfall I've ever been to. Scott Falls. Still pretty, but miniscule.

Wagner Falls was next. Jeff didn't recognize it until we hit the small trail. "Is this where you made us sing Valerieeee...Valerahhhh...my knapsack on my back?" It sure was! He remembered.

The boat cruise lasted about 3 hours. It covered the 7 miles that we were originally going to kayak. I think we could have done it, but safety first. The cliffs are beautiful, and I hope you will visit them on my flickr page, along with the waterfall shots.

We de-boated, and headed east to Paradise. Paradise, Michigan...that is. 3 sites left at Tahquamenon Falls State Park. We snagged site #36.

State Park camping is so different than National Forest camping. Bikes and kids, barking dogs, crying babies. But...campers are campers. Good people out to have a great time in the great outdoors. Gotta love 'em.

I forgot to mention baggin a new lighthouse. Au Sable Point near Grand Marais, Michigan. 1.5 miles out...1.5 miles back. Nice lighthouse...poor lighting. On the walk back...we were swarmed with black flies. Pestering biting black flies. No amount of "swinging" could keep them away. We tried and failed to get into the stream when we were finished.

After another campfire...we slept.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.