Patrol Boat

Out in a taxi to see the real Oman first thing. Yes, the Grand Mall in Muscat. And the Avenue Mall. And Lulu's Hypermarket.
No, not the Grand Mosque, the Mall, my academic companion had to clarify. Despite being tourists, we want to engage in the authentic life out here.
Then an afternoon of lounging. I've started 'When I Heard the Bell' - the story of the loss of the Iolaire. It was the last birthday present my maw bought me before dementia took her and it's a fine read. The author John Macleod, was famously sacked for writing a provocative piece (he's a Wee Free) about the Soham murders. Although the Herald put him up to it, and the Editor approved it, he was subsequently sacked after the predictable readership furore. A bit off, really.
Later, off to Caffe Kargeen to sit outside under the lantern lit trees for a meal. Very beautiful indeed, and oor last night. This is the life. Sultan Pensioner, grand nabob. I fancy myself as a bit of a mufti too. Off to the Mall with him! There's a punishment. That, and turkey bacon BLT.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.