Derelict Sunday: "Human" (Oops!)

Huntly Castle, today a grand ruin sitting on the edge of the town of the same name, was, in its heyday, a spectacular renaissance palace. You can still get a sense of it's beauty and splendour from this magnificent range of oriel windows on the South front.

This is where the "Oops!" comes in...

Driving up from Edinburgh, I asked Victoria to look up this week's theme. "Beauty", she told me. So I had the idea of Huntly Castle's decorations as an example of that. It was only when I was doing this post that I discovered "Beauty" is next week - this week it's "Human"! So...

The inscription around the windows is an example of human vanity - in this instance, that of the then massively wealthy Gordon family. And as Victoria said, I could also present this confusion as human error! :))

Derelict Sunday is hosted by JanetHH. You can view all entries here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.