About to intercept

A pleasant drive to the unit this morning. Nothing too dramatic from over the weekend, although a couple of those who were given some leave showed that they weren't quite as well yet as we had thought on Friday. That's the purpose of leave; to see what happens in a normal environment.
The young man with a first episode has done well, and was able to be discharged. It was a day of almost non-stop assessments and treatment adjustments. Left at a reasonable time and was back at the apartment in time to take a bike ride, for the first time in weeks. 
This showed me that some of the problem I had before the recent excitement was probably due to unrecognised rhythm problems, and now that they are resolved, I enjoyed this ride much more. Down to Western Springs Lake, where the papango (New Zealand Scaup) were active.
The drake I am blipping was eyeing a female who appeared to be cruising around, almost nonchalantly. They approached each other, and before I knew what was happening he had jumped onto her back. Almost immediately she was submerged, and he kept her there until he swam away. I decided to protect sensibilities and not blip the couple of shots I did get of the action.
In recognition of her part in that, I am including a photograph of her prior casual cruising as today's extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.