Family Links, MM131, Isabels Book

Mono Monday, Links and I thought of our family book. When my sister was very young she always said she was going to write a book and in her sixties she did. It was many years of hard work for her researching the family history and what an amazing job she did. It takes in my fathers ancestors, The Callahan's from Ireland and the McLeod's from Scotland. Following this she researched my mothers family. The Bain's from Scotland and The Cubitt's from England. She has just done a reprint for many that had found out about it from the wider family and wanted copies.
So I picked some up from her in Dunedin on Friday and am busy getting them posted away. It has been a huge task for her as she is now in her late seventies and does not enjoy good health.
My paternal  Great Grandfather came from Mallow , County Cork Ireland and my Great Grandmother a Scottish Presbyterian came from Wick in Scotland. They fell in love and married and her family never spoke to her again as in those days Catholics did not marry Presbyterians.
The writing of this book has sparked much conversation amongst the wider families and has renewed many family links.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.