Day1 - Flight1

A few days ago I shared with my Blip Buddies the fact that I had in fact been on a mission to lose A LOT of weight and over the past five months I have managed to lose in excess of 20 kilos.  It's been quite a journey and the big bonus is that I'm feeling just great and ready to tackle the next stage of my mission.

On the 3rd of April last year I posted an image on my blip journal of the Eureka Tower in Melbourne.  My intention was to climb the tower in November of 2015 in aid of the wonderfully inspiring organisation that is Interplast.  My friend Debbie Shiell and I were on target, however sadly our plan did not eventuate when CCN's dad sadly passed away while we were in Western Australia.  We realised that the Eureka Climb would have to wait for another day.

I remember ringing my great blip buddie and mentor Paula Banks in Canada and explaining our situation.  Paula very wisely counselled me that the tower would still be there next year.  Of course it would and believe me, it hasn't moved an inch.  1642 floors and we'll climb every one of them to reach level 88.  The sky's the limit.

I feel like I'm in very good hands having Debbie Shiell as a team mate.  When I first met Debbie she was working with Interplast and it was with her great enthusiasm and guidance that we were able to achieve some great results in terms of fundraising for that organisation.  In 2006, Debbie Shiell was one of the Desert Mum's who with three other mates walked the length of the Simpson Desert to raise money for Breast Cancer Research.  I managed to find the "Desert Mum's" website which will tell you all about that incredible feat.  

So it's now onwards and upwards and today I felt the day had come when I could finally start to tackle the stairs and the best training steps I have close by are the stairs at the Blackheath Railway Station.  35 steps to the top, so when I can do 47 sets I will be ready for "The Tower".  Let me tell you, it's a lot easier not having to haul that extra 22.5kilos to the top each time.

I'll keep you posted on my progress, but it's head down and bum up as I only have 16 weeks before the big climb on November 13th.  I'm happy to say my wonderful mentor Paula is still working with me and constantly helping me believe that I will master the challenge. 

Of course I will because the overriding incentive is the fact that we will be raising money for one of the most inspiring organisations I have ever had the privilege to work with.  I urge you to go to the Interplast website and you will understand why we will be making it to the top!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.