Sparky

By Sparky

Don't judge on appearances.

Ah, said the log,
this is a side branch, most of me is drowned.
Ah! Said the teacher, eat your dinner, think yourself lucky, you always get enough to eat.
Do I?
Ah! Said the shop assistant, I see you've worn old shoes to come shopping, what a good idea, I can throw them away for you now you've chosen new ones.
Hmm, I need them for..... gardening, I lie. They are my only shoes.
Ah! Said the professor, those of us who have never been discriminated against can't really understand.
You might not. I can. I couldn't help where I was born, I learnt the language as quickly as I could
Ah! Said the trainer, we must do all we can to help these children in violent families become employable. Although, he smiled,most will not, they like being on benefits.
No, we don't.
Ah! Said the lady from the adoption agency, none of us will know what its like to be put up for adoption.
Some of us do.
Who stays in a marriage when the husband cheats on them, repeatedly? Asked the childless woman on the bus.
And how can they stay when the hitting starts?
We do though, we are strong.
Don't include me in the 'we'.
Don't judge me on my apperance.
You know very little about me.

In other news, 8k along rivelin valley, this morning. It was hot, humid, almost felt like a French canal. I expected to see a cafe with faded striped cloth, red wine, shutters, golden village stone walls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.