Camouflaged Meadow Brown Butterfly

Warning: Do NOT look at the extras, if you have a problem with rats!

I mean it!

The butterfly was hard to discover. The rat could hardly go unnoticed.
Here's the story: My neighbour and I park next to each other. When I came home after work she was already home standing (a little helpless looking) next to her car. I got out of mine and knew something was wrong. A disgusting smell, flies on the hood of her car...need I say more?
We opened the hood of her car together and there it was. Yuck!

We have a marten problem in the neigbourhood lately. Many nights they woke me up when fighting with each other (or whatever else) on the street and the back yards. This neighbour with the car had an entire family on the attic (was really a problem to get rid of them!).

We think this is the martens revenge for being locked out of the attic: One of the martens was watched fighting with a rat on the street right next to where we park (said another neighbour today). So far so good.
Now we think the marten somehow managed to drag the (dead?) rat under the hood of my neighbours car last night and left the dead thing there. The dead rat was driven to the trainstaion in the morning, spent a lovely day in the summer heat and was driven home again. (How my neighbour survived the 3 km ride home from the trainstation - I don't know!).
However, we opened the hood of her car together and there it was. A dead rat. Very dead rat.
Within minutes (after a few screams of course) we were surrounded by 3 more people. Finally her dad picked the dead thing up and took it somewhere I don't want to know (but not after I blipped it!) :-)

She took the car to the next gas station with a carwash, where the friendly owner cleaned the yuck! area with a high-pressure cleaner.
(It was still smelly after she got home). End of story (I hope).

I may delete the extras tomorrow...

21:15; 26°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.