IainCloke

By IainCloke

And can it be - the grace of friendship

Sitting in the back yard after work opening the days post I am once again touched by friends - known and unknown.
Amongst the pile of post about pensions and documents and bills was a small parcel. Someone, so far unknown, has taken the trouble to select, order and have delivered a wonderful little book of poems, prayers and other material: "Soul Food". I shall enjoy dipping into this.
Also unexpected was the lovely supportive card that you can see. I am still regularly receiving letters, cards and messages. It is so encouraging to know that people are still remembering.
And then I was privileged to share via live streaming in a friends funeral service that was taking place at Hinton Avenue UMC, Charlottesville, Virginia. I joined in with the closing hymn, which was "And can it be!" and reflected on the liberating and empowering power of love.
I also smiled at the thought of my formidable friend approaching God to share her indignation about being cut short and angry about injustice and suffering in the world.
"Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.